Asian Cuisine · Soups & Salads

Carrot Soup with Miso and Ginger

carrot miso ginger soup
carrot miso ginger soup

I bought a 5 lb bag of baby carrots cleverly fooling myself that I’d munch on carrots instead of candy when the post-lunch sugar munchies kicked in. When lunch rolled by, I dutifully ate the carrots and then proceeded to dream about the candy corn and gummy bears waiting for me in the cubicle next door…and  I became convinced that I could smell them.

Three days of carrot-candy munching continued until milk duds made an appearance and there was no longer room in my snack diet for carrots. So the bag of carrots sat in my fridge for days and I became annoyed at how much fridge space it was taking. Drastic measures were needed and these carrots needed to disappear.

carrot miso ginger soup

This soup is a lovely and very tasty way to make your problems…I mean, carrots disappear quickly. The soup freezes beautifully but with the cooler temperatures, I found myself enjoying a cup of soup for dinner for a few days until it was gone. I may have to buy another 5 lb bag again…but at least I’ll know how to deal with my carrot problems this time around.

INGREDIENTS

Soup
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 pounds carrots, peeled, thinly sliced
1 large onion, finely chopped
4 regular or 6 small garlic cloves, peeled and smashed
1 tablespoon finely chopped or grated ginger, or more to taste (it could easily be doubled)
4 cups vegetable broth
1/4 cup white miso paste, or more to taste

To finish
Drizzle of toasted sesame oil
Grated lemon zest
2 scallions, very thinly sliced

Heat oil in heavy large saucepan over medium heat. Add carrots, onion and garlic sauté until onion is translucent, about 10 minutes. Add broth and ginger. Cover and simmer until carrots are tender when pierced, stirring occasionally, about 30 minutes.

Puree soup in batches in blender, or all at once with an immersion blender. In a small bowl, whisk together the miso an a half-cup of the soup. Stir the mixture back into the pot of soup. Taste the soup and season with salt, pepper or additional miso to taste.

Ladle into bowls and garnish each with a drizzle of sesame oil and small mound of scallions.

Optional garnish: picked scallions. To bring this soup one notch up, pickled scallions are the way to go.  Lightly pickle the scallions by mixing them with  6 tablespoons rice vinegar, 2 tablespoons water, 1 tablespoon of Kosher salt , and 1 1/2 teaspoons sugar for a while before using them as garnish.

From smitten kitchen

 

Leave a Reply

