Cakes

Spanish Orange and Almond Cake

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

To admit that I’m a food hoarder is hard to acknowledge, much less, admit. Considering my hoarding habits of:

  1. Going to a party and happily waiting for it to end just so I can take home containers full of leftovers. Nevermind the fact I’ll be traveling the next day…. someone will eat them or else I’ll perform a scientific experiment to see if freezing different types of food is possible.
  2. Constantly re-organizing my pantry to see if I can squeeze in just one, two…or three more cans of Nutella or peanut butter
  3. Filling my freezer to the brim full of homemade savory and sweet goodness and finding that my freezer door refuses to close shut. Oh the horror when I come back home and find it slightly ajar…
  4. Leaving extra food in my friends’ fridges for any emergency scenarios where there might not be any food to eat.

Facts are against me. Fine. I have the habits of a pudgy squirrel that crams as much food into its cheeks and squirrels away food in random places in preparation for Winter. Except it’s always Winter for me. Being a food hoarder isn’t so bad when comparing myself to a pudgy squirrel. They are kind of cute, after all.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

To indulge in this delightful obsession, I’ve decided to upgrade my kitchen appliances where my freezer will be even bigger and I’ll have TWO ovens. I’ve made a commitment to try and work through some of my “world-is-ending” stash in preparation for this celebration. First off are the 3 packets of almond flour that were supposed to be used for a frangipane pear tart…but the idea never came to fruition. Instead I stumbled upon a rustic recipe that utilizes two whole oranges in a cake and a ton of almond flour. While this cake is gluten free (not that I have dietary restrictions), I found this cake to be, without exaggeration, immensely delightful and therefore something I must add to my freezer collection—if only I could stop eating the entire cake.

This cake is perfect with a dollop (or slathering) of whipped cream. The orange flavor is infused with every bite and perhaps would only be even better with a hint of grand marnier. It gets more and more moist each day, assuming it lasts the first day.

**Note about the oranges: Grocery store oranges tend to have a thicker pith (the white part of the orange) so I carefully removed the pith before cooking the oranges. I’d suggest to check how much pith your oranges have before throwing them into the cake as too much pith may cause the cake to become bitter.

Ingredients

  • 2 oranges, about 280 g (10 oz) in total, scrubbed and roughly chopped (with skin) – see note above regarding piths**
  • 5 eggs, separated
  • 200 g (7 oz) caster sugar
  • 225 g (8 oz) ground almonds
  • 2 tbsp flaked almonds
  • sifted icing sugar to decorate

Directions

  1. Put the chopped oranges in a small saucepan, discarding any pips. Add 1 tbsp water, then cover and cook gently for 30 minutes or until the oranges are soft and excess liquid has evaporated. Leave to cool.
  2. Preheat the oven to 180ºC (350ºF, gas mark 4). Line the bottom and sides of a 23 cm (9 in) springform cake tin with baking parchment. Finely chop the oranges in a food processor or blender, or with a large knife.
  3. Put the egg whites in a large bowl and whisk until they form stiff peaks. Gradually whisk in half the caster sugar, then whisk for 1 minute.
  4. Using the same whisk, whisk the egg yolks with the remaining caster sugar in another bowl for 2–3 minutes or until pale and quite thick. Whisk in the finely chopped oranges, then carefully fold in the ground almonds.
  5. Stir in 3 spoonfuls of the whisked egg white to loosen the mixture, then gently fold in the remaining whites with a large metal spoon. Transfer the mixture to the prepared tin and level the top. Sprinkle with the flaked almonds.
  6. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until the cake is golden and a skewer inserted in the centre comes out clean. Check the cake after 20 minutes and cover lightly with foil if it is browning too quickly.
  7. Leave the cake to cool in the tin, then turn it out, peel away the lining paper and transfer to a serving plate. Dust with icing sugar before serving. The cake can be kept in an airtight tin for up to 2 days.

Recipe adapted from allrecipes.com (UK version)

3 thoughts on “Spanish Orange and Almond Cake

  1. Pingback: Maras Wunderland

Leave a Reply

