Desserts

Chestnut Truffles

chesnut truffleShoot for the stars and even if you miss it, you’ll land among the trees.

It’s chestnut season and every time I see fresh chestnuts, my mind begins to picture Mont Blanc: a layered cake consisting of meringue, chestnut puree, genoise, whipped cream, and chocolate shavings. I’m smitten.

I think I just drooled.

But in typical Tiffanie fashion, I look at the monumental task in front of me, shrug my shoulders and say, “why not? you watch me.”

So off to first making the chestnut puree, from scratch.  I studiously research ways on roasting chestnuts, execute the instructions, and begin to peel chestnuts to occupy my Friday night.

roasted chesnuts

Somehow I find it kind of romantic peeling chestnuts on a Friday night. Theoretically.

…until my finger nails and sides of my thumbs begin to feel raw. Did I really just cut myself trying to peel a chestnut? Why is this so difficult? What is this weird furry outer skin?

peeled chesnuts
This is so. not. romantic.

My hands look like they’ve been in some sort of cat-clawing bar brawl. They do seem to compliment my bloody knuckles and scars from kickboxing. I am such a badass.

I look at the remaining 15 chestnuts that remain unscathed and silently curse. I peel another 10 until my bowl looks full enough and decide it’s time to land (flop) on the tops of the trees.

chestnut puree

What if I just make enough chestnut puree and then cover them in chocolate? Chestnut truffles? Sounds like a tasty substitute.

Stars, Mont Blanc, ’til another day…

chesnut truffles

Ingredients

Chesnut puree:
12 chestnuts (boiled and peeled)
1/2 cup milk or cream
1/2 cup water

Dark chocolate coating:
1 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips (I used shaved Callebaut dark chocolate)
2 tablespoons butter or margarine
1 tablespoon light corn syrup

Directions

1. Place chesnut puree ingredients in a small sauce pan (the liquid should just cover the chestnuts).

2. Simmer the chestnuts until soft, about 10-20 minutes. Watch them as milk can quickly boil over the side of a pan.

3. Scoop the chestnuts out of the liquid, reserving the liquid.

4. Puree the chestnuts. You’ll need the be able to roll the puree into a small ball so add reserved liquid only to allow the puree to clump together.

5. Grab 1 heaping tablespoon of the puree and roll into a ball with your hands. Repeat for the remaining chestnut puree.

6. To make the coating, heat the chocolate, butter, and corn syrup until the chips are very soft in a microwavable bowl. A microwave works well as does a saucepan set over very low heat. If you use the microwave, be sure to set the power on low and check/stir the mixture every 10 seconds.

7. Dip or roll the truffles into the chocolate until covered. Gently place onto parchment paper and repeat for the remaining truffles.  Let the chocolate harden and set at room temperature. These truffles will last 1-2 days if stored in the fridge. The water/milk will begin to seep from the truffles if not consumed within 1-2 days.

One thought on “Chestnut Truffles

Leave a Reply

