European (Western and Eastern) Cuisine · Mediterreanean Cuisine · Seafood

Shrimp Saganaki

The combination of shrimp and feta seemed a bit odd when I came across this recipe but the necessity to use ingredients in my pantry over-ruled any second thoughts. I’m starting to sound a bit practical, it’s scaring me. I must buy another cocktail dress to compensate.

A recipe that takes less than 20 minutes to make took less than a couple minutes of devour – it was that delicious. This has now become my go-to meal when I’m feeling lazy but still want to eat an actual dinner (I guess my frozen dumplings don’t count as a real dinner…) It’s made in one pan too! All you’ll need to wash is the knife, the pan, and chopping board.

I do have to mention that in the background is my first attempt at making sourdough bread. Creating the starter was more work than keeping my bamboo plant alive – I named it Hops.  Hops was just like a pet — a seven day introduction. Every day he would get dirty, I’d have to clean him and then feed him. There was even times where I forgot to feed him and woke up in the wee hours of the morning to feed him his usual – flour and water.


Ingredients

  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 14.5-ounce cans of diced tomatoes
  • 1/4 cup minced fresh parsley
  • 1 Tbsp minced fresh dill or 1 teaspoon dried dill
  • 1 cup white wine
  • 1 to 1 1/4 pounds medium sized raw shrimp, peeled and deveined (can leave tails on), thaw if frozen
  • Pinch of salt, more to taste
  • Pinch black pepper, more to taste
  • 3 ounces feta cheese (about 2/3 cup, crumbled)

Directions

1 Preheat oven to 425°F. Heat oil in a large, oven-proof skillet on medium high heat. Add the onions and cook until softened, 3-5 minutes. Add the garlic and cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds more.

2 Add the tomatoes and white wine and bring to a simmer, reduce heat and let simmer for 5-10 minutes, until the juices thicken a bit.

3 Remove from heat. Stir in the herbs, shrimp, feta cheese, and salt and pepper to taste. Place pan in oven and bake, uncovered, until shrimp are cooked through, about 10-12 minutes.

Serve immediately. Serve with crusty French or Italian loaf bread, pasta, or rice.

Serves 4.

Adapted from simplyrecipes.com



2 thoughts on “Shrimp Saganaki

    1. Hi Kgibson! I actually don’t have a fancy SLR or anything like that. Most of my posts are made with a Canon point and shoot (SD980IS) but the latest posts are shot with a Canon S95 where I can actually play a bit with the f-stops. I use natural lighting (filtered through a thin white sheet or a glass pane, never direct sunlight) and when natural light isn’t available, I use a Lowelego light, white sheet, and a white piece of cardboard. Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

