Sun-dried Tomato, Artichoke, and Basil Pesto

Basil pesto – eat your heart out. This recipe is as versatile as its traditional counterpart; it’s just more sophisticated. It’ll even store in your fridge for a couple of weeks too.  It looks like I have no excuse to eat that ramen just yet.

I had a can of marinated artichoke hearts and sun-dried tomatoes sitting in my pantry for almost 3 months–from my happy place, Costco. I’m sure I bought them for a recipe but well, ADD kicked in and I’ve long forgotten for what recipe and what for what purpose. I do however love stumbling upon a new recipe and having all the ingredients on hand though! Instant gratification.

This recipe can be used as a sauce for pasta, chicken, fish. I’m even thinking of making deviled eggs with this pesto. My current obsession is to add a splash of cream and serve it with penne and salmon. If ADD doesn’t kick in again, chicken roulades will be what’s for dinner!

Ingredients

  • 1 (8.5-ounce) jar sun-dried tomatoes packed in olive oil + 1/8 cup of reserved oil
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 cup (packed) fresh basil leaves
  • 1/2 cup freshly grated Parmesan
  • 1 to 1.5 cups of marinated artichoke hearts

Directions

Place all ingredients in a blender and blend away. If your blender refuses to cooperate, add additional oil from the sun-dried tomatoes.

Leave a Reply

