Beef · Soups & Salads

White Wine Beef Stew

My trusted filet mignon beef stew recipe has weaknesses and I’m still a little annoyed at how it turned out. I vow to never buy a bottle of red wine less than $10 and never to put more Guiness than stated. I was so put off by the results (I was making it for friends too!) that I didn’t feel like cooking for the rest of the weekend. Hey, I’m allowed to throw temper tantrums.

 A week has passed and while I’m not ready to have a re-make of my disaster, I’m comfortable with making another lip-smacking good stew. Normally the rule is to pair red wine with beef. Rules are made to be broken. This recipe has a lovely taste than your traditional beef stew. Serve with a toasted baguette.

 Ingredients

  •  1 onion, cut into wedges
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 package of sliced mushrooms
  • Handful of cherry tomatoes, sliced length wise
  • 2 Russet potatoes, cut into bit-size pieces
  • 2 sprigs of thyme (fresh, preferred)
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 tbs oregano
  • 3 tbs of vegetable oil
  • 2 lbs of beef stew meat (or any other type of appropriate “stew” meat like beef round/chuck)
  • 1 tbs soy sauce
  • 2.5 cups of white wine
  • 2 cups of water
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup sour cream
  • Tabasco
  • Salt and pepper

Directions

 In a large bowl, season meat with soy sauce and couple dashes of salt, pepper, and oregano. Let rest for 5 minutes.

 In a large pot, heat 2 tbs oil and add meat. Cook until browned on all sides (3-4 minutes). Remove from pot and set aside, reserve any juice.

 In the same pot, add 1 tbs oil and add in garlic and onions. Saute until onions are slightly translucent, about 5-6 minutes. Add meat back into pot and add potatoes, mushrooms, thyme, and bay leaves and cook for 5 more minutes, tossing frequently.

 Add in white wine and water and bring the soup mixture to boiling. Add in tomatoes and reduce to medium-low heat and simmer for 1.5 hours (2 hours if you have the time and prefer your meat very tender). Add in sour cream and a couple of dashes of Tabasco sauce. Serve with a baguette and all your problems will go away.

4 thoughts on “White Wine Beef Stew

    1. Hi! You can put in the tomatoes 30-40 minutes before the soup is done. I am lazy so I just put them in after I add in the wine and water!

  1. The rule of thumb when cooking with wine is that you’re only supposed to cook with wine you’d actually drink. I’m a fan of drinking the $50+ wines and I wouldn’t cook with anything less.

Leave a Reply

