American Cuisine

‘Attack of the Bees’ Ribs

The bee rating: 9

So while the original name of this recipe is called ‘Should be Illegal Oven BBQ ribs,’ I am debating whether to name this recipe ‘Attack of the Bees’ ribs or the ‘OMG x5’ ribs. I’ll leave it up to my readers :)

While waiting 3 hours for these ribs to cook is bad enough, I also realized I had an army of bees attempting to figure out how to make their way through my screen door. To my horror, I also realized that there were a few gaps between between my screen door and the door frame — so while the thought of making my neighbors jealous was delightfully evil — the door had to be shut. It was just me and the smell of sweet and tangy BBQ.

Then it came down to gorging time. In true California lingo,  I said ‘oh my god’ 5 times while eating the ribs…because they were that good.

Ingredients

3 lbs pork ribs (I used baby back)
1 (8 ounce) jar honey
1 teaspoon paprika
1 teaspoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
2 tablespoons Old Bay Seasoning
1/2 teaspoon onion powder
1/4 teaspoon celery salt
1/2 cup dark brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon fresh ground pepper
1 medium onion, grated or finely chopped
12 ounces barbecue sauce
1/4 cup white vinegar

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 325F.
2. Cut ribs apart for easier serving and place all ingredients together
3. Mix together all ingredients (except ribs) a large roasting pan.
4. Place ribs in pan and coat ribs with the paste.
5. Spread ribs out evenly on bottom of pan and lightly cover with foil.
6. Bake for a total of 3 hours. For the first 2 hours and 45 minutes, baste the ribs every hour. For the remaining 15 minutes, remove the foil and place the ribs under the broiler.

4 thoughts on “‘Attack of the Bees’ Ribs

  1. Wowww. Is that what heaven looks like?

    Btw, are all the pictures you posted Actual shots you took?

    Hi Woo!
    Most the shots on this website I took with my simple point and shoot camera. There are maybe 3-4 that were taken with my brother’s fancy SLR camera (the blurriness effect is more apparent.)

  2. I want you to know I have been making these very ribs for my family for over a year..it is their very favorite! I have simplified some things by using Dave’s Famous BBQ products, but comes out great every time! Thanks for the great recipe. My entire family adores you.

Leave a Reply

