Seafood

Cumin, Garlic, and Cilantro Salmon Kabobs

The plan was to make a salmon curry from simplyrecipes.com until I realized that I had no more onions. The 1-minute walk to the grocery store seemed a bit daunting – adapation was necessary. I would love to brag and say that I had a creative whim but now you know the truth: laziness prevails.These are by far my favorite salmon kabobs…even if I can’t remember the last time I had salmon kabobs…

Notes: Do not be afraid to use the garlic! The lime diffuses any of the bitterness/pungency!

Ingredients

1 1/2 to 2 pounds of salmon, cut into 2-inch pieces (largish-bite sized pieces)
The cloves from 1/2 head of garlic, peeled, crushed, minced
2 Tablespoons of fresh lime juice
3/4 teaspoon of coarse salt
1 Tablespoon of sweet paprika
2 1/2 teaspoons of dry cumin
1 1/2 teaspoons of freshly ground black pepper
3 tbs fresh cilantro, chopped
Olive oil

Directions

1. Mix garlic, lime juice, salt, paprika, cumin, black pepper, and cilantro together. Pour mixture over salmon chunks and marinate more than 24 hours. I’ve found that 2 nights is ideal.

2. Remove salmon from mixture and blot out any extra liquid residing on the salmon with a paper towel. Keep any garlic/cilantro on the salmon! Drizzle 1 tbs of olive oil to lightly coat the salmon.

3. String salmon onto skewers. If the salmon chunk is fairly thin, fold the salmon in half and pierce through the middle.

3. Heat grill plate on medium heat and spray the pan with non-stick spray. Grill salmon skewers on one side for 3 minutes (do not flip during the 3 minutes!) Flip the skewer over and cook for another 2 minutes.

2 thoughts on “Cumin, Garlic, and Cilantro Salmon Kabobs

  1. wow… this looks DELICIOUS!!! I was doing a google search for key lime and somehow I found this link LOL but I am glad I found it!! I will try this soon inshallah!

  2. My husband and I are making this for the second time tonight. It was REALLY good the last time, and probably took about 15 mins start to finish (not counting the overnight marinade). We ate this with fresh salad with miso-ginger dressing for dinner last time. Can’t wait for tomorrow night!!

Leave a Reply

