Roasted Leg of Lamb

I love lamb but have decided the leg is going to have to go. That’s one more cut of meat that I find average (prime rib is also up for the running). Palatable but nothing to write home about. It’s a tougher cut of meat and despite massive amounts of prep and hours of cooking – it’s still boring (tough and chewy, I want meat to melt in my mouth!) It’s a bit of a sad day.

This leg of lamb took almost 2 hours of prep which involved cutting off interior fat, and stuffing the lamb with a roasted garlic, parsley, and butter mixture. Marinating and cooking takes another 5 hours. Oh dear. Despite the effort, I admit the method of cooking and preparing this lamb is genius but in the end, the cut of meat failed to impress.

I won’t be preparing leg of lamb for awhile although if anyone wants to cook for me to prove me wrong, please do!

For those who find the taste of lamb too game-y, lamb raised in the US typically are less game-y than ones raised in Australia or New Zealand.

Leave a Reply

