Asian Cuisine · Soups & Salads

Sumi Salad

sumi-salad.jpg

 Why men are useful part #1

I thought I’d use my trusty food processor to chop up cabbage for my sumi salad. What should have taken me a few minutes with a knife ended up taking me 40 minutes due to my missing gene for putting anything mechanical together.  That’s right, I shake my fist at you…dumb girl gene.

I’ve assembled the food processor before but time (1 month) has faded any recollection and I’m back at square one. Finally it’s put together and the blades/settings produce beautiful shreds of cabbage fit for cole slaw, sauteeing..and NOT for sumi salad.

Dumb girl gene sets in again and Tiffanie is unable to take the bowl off the food processor. It finally comes off with some pressure…and tons of cole slaw bits spew all over the floor.

Well dumb girl gene knows how to mop of messes…

Ingredients

1/4 c. sliced almonds
1/4 c. toasted sesame seeds
1 med. head white cabbage, chopped fine, not shredded
8 green onions, chopped fine
1 pkgs. Top Ramen noodles, any flavor, crush well before opening bag (Option: cooked chicken pieces, shredded)
Dressing
1/4 c. sugar
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. pepper
2/3 c. oil
3 tbsp. sesame oil
5 tbsp. rice vinegar
Mix dressing together and toss with salad. Refrigerate overnight covered.

 

Leave a Reply

