Drinks

Homemade Strawberry Milk

Strawberry milk

Would the real strawberry milk please stand up?

I’ve never acquired a taste for bottled strawberry milk – it always tasted too artificial. I’m definitely not a “I don’t do artificial and/or anything non-organic” priss but using real strawberries makes a whole world of difference.

Lessons learned (I think I’ve been at work too long…next I’ll be writing pros and cons):

-The original recipe called for honey. I love honey but it just simply sits on the bottom of the blender. Lazy. Lazy I tell you.
-Throw in a few ice cubes or vary the proportion of strawberries to milk for a thicker or more liquidy version
-Soy vanilla milk does wonders to this recipe…

Strawberry Milk
serves 2

1 cup strawberries, chopped (I used frozen with great results)
1/4 cup sugar (if using  honey or sweetened condensed milk, skip the first step and go to the second step. 2-3 tbs of honey, or 1-2 tbs of sweetened condensed milk)
2 to 3 cups of  milk

1. In a small pot, heat strawberries, sugar and water until boiling (it’s a bit like making jam). Let boil for about 10 minutes; mixture will reduce and thicken slightly.

2. Chill two glasses in the freezer for about 10 minutes.

3. Place strawberry mixture, honey or sweetened condensed milk (if using) in blender and pulse until mixture is pureed (I like having bits of strawberry chunks in my milk).  Serve immediately

 

One thought on “Homemade Strawberry Milk

  1. Thank you so much! I love strawberry milk, but too lazy and a tight wad to buy the syrup. I love and it is easy with a Ninja!!!

Leave a Reply

