Mexican-Style Pork and Hominy Stew (Pozole)

 

2.5 days later…

and still eating the same thing.

Despite my love of cooking and consuming massive quantities of food, sometimes it gets to be a bit too much. Afterall, if I’m just feeding me but cooking really for 8 people, I can get through 2 days of eating the same thing for breakfast, lunch, dinner before my brain says ‘please feed me an apple.’ I’d like to think it takes a lot before that thought occurs. Or maybe that’s eating salad. I digress.

And that leaves me with exactly 2 servings of food that is neglected, pushed to the back of the fridge, frowned upon, and later thrown away. But that’s the great thing about friends. I wonder if I have friends just so they can take away my unwanted food and I can focus on my next food obsession. They seem pretty happy when they get food. Naivete is a good thing….

My above math equation regarding food consumption and waste have nothing to do with the actual taste of this recipe. In fact, after years of making the typical “beef stew,” my taste buds revolted and demanded something new.  I obliged. This is the Mexican version of stew made with pork and hominy in a tomato/chili powder base. Perfectly seasoned pork that easily falls apart and enhanced with a splash of lime and cilantro…maybe I will consider eating it for breakfast.

From Cooks Illustrated, Slow Cooker Revolution

Ingredients

  • 3 (15 oz) cans white or yellow hominy, drained and rinsed
  • 3 cups low-sodium chicken broth, plus extra if needed
  • 3 onions, minced
  • 1/4 cup tomato paste
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 6 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 tablespoons chili powder
  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh oregano or 2 teaspoons dried
  • 1 (14.5 oz) can diced tomatoes
  • 1/3 cup soy sauce
  • 1 (4-lb) boneless pork butt roast, trimmed and cut into 1.5 inch chunks
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 lb carrots (about 6), peeled, halved lengthwise, and sliced 1 inch thick
  • 1/4 cup minced fresh cilantro
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lime juice

Directions

1. Puree 1 can hominy and 2 cups broth in blender until smooth, about 1 minute; transfer to slow cooker

2. Microwave onions, tomato paste, 3 tablespoons oil, garlic, chili powder, and oregano stirring occasionally, until onions are softened, about 5 minutes; transfer to slow cooker

3. Stir remaining 2 cans hominy, remaining cup brother, tomatoes with juice, and soy sauce into slow cooker. Season pork with salt and pepper and nestle into slow cooker. Toss carrots with remaining tablespoon oil, season with salt and pepper, and wrap in foil packet. Lay foil packet on top of stew. Cover and cook until pork is tender, 9 to 11 hours on low or 5 to 7 on high.

4. Transfer foil packet to plate. Let stew settle for 5 minutes, then remove fat from surface using large spoon. Carefully open foil packet, stir carrots with accumulate juice into stew, and let sit until heated through, about 5 minutes. (Adjust stew consistency with additional hot broth as needed.) Stir in cilantro and lime juice, season with salt and pepper to taste, and serve.

2 thoughts on “Mexican-Style Pork and Hominy Stew (Pozole)

    • Sybaritica – I suppose sweet corn to work although I’m not sure how corn will stand up to the hours of cooking. I’d almost suggest using chickpeas as it’s more similar in consistency to hominy. Let me know how it works!

Leave a Reply

