A Tribute to Egg Salad

I had a great weekend – I went grocery shopping Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. Sunday was the worst. I came out with a shopping cart laden with groceries totaling $100. I’d love to say I was hosting a dinner party but I sheepishly admit it was all for me, just me.  Now I’ve got a fridge crammed full of goodies that must be consumed within a week before I travel back to the East Coast. This provides a monumental logistical nightmare for me. My thoughts are consumed with what meals to eat when all the while when I should start prepping ingredients. I think I can consume all this food by eating 4-5 meals a day. Somehow I’ll squeeze in the stairmaster between all those meals.

Must use eggs: Egg salad is a humble recipe; it won’t evoke the more glamorous side of you but it will bring back memories of when your mother packed you a school lunch and sent you off to school. Those memories are much fonder in the mind as when I was a kid, I hated egg sandwich and always threw them away in favor for pizza. This is my tribute to all those thrown away sandwiches, a very tasty one at that.

Ingredients

  • 4 eggs
  • 2-3 tablespoon mayonnaise (I like using Kewpie mayo)
  • 1 tablespoons prepared Dijon-style mustard (or your favorite type of mustard)
  • 1.5 teaspoon dried dill weed
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 red onion, minced (about 1/8 cup)
  • 2 tablespoons celery, finely chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions

1. Place eggs in a saucepan and cover with cold water. Bring water to a boil; cover, remove from heat, and let eggs stand in hot water for 10 to 12 minutes. Remove from hot water, cool, peel and chop into large chunks.

2. In a large bowl, combine the egg, mayonnaise, mustard, dill, paprika, onion and salt and pepper. Mash well with a fork or wooden spoon. Refrigerate overnight if you can wait.

3. Serve on bread as a sandwich or over crisp lettuce as a salad.

Leave a Reply

