Spring Bulgur Salad

My pantry is like a 50-yr old man with a huge bulging belly (wait, I mean, 30-year old man) Am I going to get death threats for being honest?

I digress. Despite having organized my pantry,  it still needed a slim down and I need to stop buying new ingredients. I have a ton of carbs that need to be used. First up?  A bag of bulgur that was hiding in the corner . Normally I only use bulgur for tabbouleh but I found a delectable recipes from 101cookbooks that was begging to be tried.

It’s extraordinarily healthy (very atypical of me to try) but I found it so tasty with the bits of asparagus, toasted nuts, eggs, garlic and chives that I almost (almost)  didn’t eat the salmon I paired with it.

Note: I found the flavors best when slightly warmed and eaten immediately after prepared.

Ingredients

1 cup fine bulgur
1 bunch of asparagus, cut into 1/2-inch segments
1 cup peas, freshly shelled or frozen

1 garlic clove, crushed to a paste with 2 big pinches of salt
1 lemon, juice only
1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil

1 bunch chives, finely chopped
1 cup walnuts, toasted and chopped
2 hard-boiled eggs, chopped

Directions

Fill a medium sauce pan with water and bring to a boil. You are going to use some of this water over the bulgur (to cook it), and the rest to blanch (quick-boil) the peas and asparagus.

Put the bulgur in a medium bowl, add boiling water  to the surface of the grains and let it stand for about 15 minutes, just until tender. Drain and press out any remaining water and toss with a couple pinches of salt. Set aside.

Return the saucepan to the heat and bring the remainder of the water or chicken broth back up to a boil. Salt the water and cook the asparagus and peas for just about 20 seconds, just long enough for them to brighten up and lose a bit of their bite. Drain, run under colder water to stop the cooking, and add to the bulger.

For the dressing, whisk the garlic, lemon juice, and olive oil together and season with more salt if needed.

To the bulgur, asparagus, and peas add 1/2 the chives and 1/2 the walnuts. Toss with a big splash of the dressing. Taste and add more dressing if needed. Adjust the seasoning as well at this point. Garnish with the remaining chives, walnuts, and chopped egg and serve.

From 101cookbooks.com

Leave a Reply

