Cinnamon Polenta Pancakes

Sounds exotic, doesn’t it?

I’m not sure what I was expecting but I was expecting a fusion of the sweet/salty combination of cornbread with cinnamon infused throughout. Then of course, douse with syrup and fruit and the Saturday afternoon cat nap can commence.

I hate it when food is disappointing – especially when I woke up early on Saturday to make these.  There was no cornbread yumminess, the cinnamon flavor was barely detectable. I added more sugar and cinnamon, and while acceptable then, still, only acceptable. The pancakes are fairly dense from the cornmeal and buttermilk. This is not a light and fluffy pancake. I think I would have better luck finding a cornbread recipe and adding cinnamon.

Darn you Food & Wine, I want my 2 hours of sleep back.

Ingredients
•    1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
•    3/4 cup cornmeal (I used course ground meal)
•    3 tablespoon sugar
•    1 tablespoon cinnamon
•    1 teaspoon baking powder
•    1/2 teaspoon baking soda
•    Pinch of salt
•    1 cup low-fat buttermilk
•    2 large eggs, beaten
•    1/4 cup olive oil
•    1/4 cup water

Directions

1.    In a bowl, whisk the flour with the cornmeal, sugar, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda and salt. In a bowl, whisk the buttermilk with the eggs, olive oil and water. Whisk the liquid ingredients into the dry ingredients, leaving small lumps.

2.    Set a griddle or skillet over moderate high heat and spray it with vegetable oil spray. When the pan is hot, spoon in 1/4-cup mounds of batter and spread to form 4-inch rounds. Cook the pancakes until the bottoms are browned and bubbles appear on the surface, 2 minutes. Flip and cook until browned on the bottom, 1 to 2 minutes longer. Serve the pancakes warm.

Leave a Reply

