Fish Cakes

Random inspiration turns out…dare I say, scrumptious.

I seem to have fallen victim to something that makes me look like I’ve been infected by the virus that causes humans to turn into a ravenous flesh eating zombie.

So there I am, waiting for my turn to be checked out by a doctor, when the thought suddenly hits me: “I need, need to cook.” I’m determined to cook up some yummy until I see a huge roadblock ahead (mentally);  there’s nothing in the fridge and I have to make a trip to the grocery store – with sunglasses on. Pet peeve #3 – people who wear sunglasses indoors – seriously, why? too cool?

Trip to the grocery store? Idea dismissed.

The thought of scaring people did cross my mind though. How funny would it be to walk up to a kid, look at them, and say, “I’m turning…” and walk away. Then again, some people might not understand the reference…anyway!

Here’s a recipe using whatever random ingredients I had stored in the freezer. These work wonderfully as appetizers (try stuffing this into eggplants, bell peppers, or fried tofu!) See this recipe if you want to use vegatables or tofu.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup lb of fish paste (this is usually found in containers in the freezer aisle(s) of an Asian market. If you’re lucky, your store might have this made fresh!)
  • 6 raw shrimp, deveined
  • 1/2 tsp minced ginger
  • 1 tbs minced green onion
  • 1 tsp red curry  (+ a little)
  • 2 tbs chopped cilantro or 1 tbs Italian or Thai basil
  • 1 tbs sesame oil
  • A dash of salt

Why yes, I do freeze my leftover herbs :)

Directions

1. Squish the shrimp until flattened (I find using a wide blade helps – something similar to a cleaver). Chop squished shrimp until shrimp looks pulverized (lovely description, eh?)
2. Add all ingredients into a bowl and mix together until the mixture firms up (1-2 minutes).
3. Heat 1 tbs oil in a pan. Over medium high heat, drop heaping tablespoons of fish mixture and pan fry until both sides are golden brown (about 2-3 minutes each side).
4. Serve with thai sweet chile sauce

Leave a Reply

