Yam Leaves

Recipe and picture update 

Thankfully the leaves don’t taste anything like the root! I still have yet to acquire a taste for yam….

I believe that these vegetables were only introduced to 99 ranch a few years back – they are reminiscent of my favorite vegetable when I was growing up: on choy (water spinach).  Apparently my parents ate this growing up as it was widely available (and cheap!) Too bad it’s not cheap here.

Ingredients

  • Yam leaves (one bunch)
  • Sesame oil (1 tbs)
  • 1 tbs garlic, minced
  • 1 tbs ginger, minced
  • 2 tbs green onions, chopped fine
  • Soy sauce (~ 1 tbs)
  • 1 tbs canola oil

Directions

1. Wash and remove branches from main stem.  Discard any stems that look tough, old, or have a diameter greater than 1.5 mm. Bring water in wok to a boil. Boil yam leaves for 3-4 minutes (or until slightly wilted).  Drain leaves in a colander and place on serving platter.

2. In a wok, heat canola oil and add garlic, ginger, and green onions. Stir until fragrant. Add sesame oil and pour over vegetables.  Splash soy sauce over vegetables and serve.

7 thoughts on “Yam Leaves

  1. Thank you for this recipe, I got my very first bunch of yam leaves from a local farmers market yesterday, and had no idea what to do with it. I found your blog and recipe by googling yam leaves, and what a wonderful find! Love your pics and recipes. Looks like you have Chinese background, so do I. I live in Northern CA and also keep a food blog. Nothing as beautiful as yours though.

  2. wow, what a delicious recipe, i will be trying it soon,,also the yam leaves have helped in digesting food at a remarkable rate, and i thoroughly recommend, that if anyone has any problems in the area of digestion of food too try yam leaves,,they wont let you down.

  3. I too bought 3 bunches of yam leaves and was wondering what to do with all of it since us, Filipinos only use the top portion (very young leaves and shoots). I saw your recipe, tried it, and me and my family liked it. It was easy and delicious. This is one recipe that I will use every week and pass on to my other Pinoy friends and relatives. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

  4. My mom gave me some fresh yam leaves from her garden, I’ve never had them before so I looked up and found your recipe. I had all the ingredients except for green onions, so I replaced them with regular onions and celery. I also added some finely shopped brown mushrooms, and also some garbonzo beans. I’m eating right now and its delicious! Thanks :D

  5. Pingback: Sunday 11/8 Sacramento Certified Farmers Market-Yam Leaves « Anniespickns's Blog

    • Hi! Unfortunately I don’t know the different species of yams as I just buy the ones sold in the Asian markets. Please let me know if you do find out more about this topic though.

Leave a Reply

